Saturday, March 16, 2013

Record Store Day 2013: Robyn Hitchcock - There Goes The Ice

For Record Store Day 2013 Robyn Hitchcock will make all 8 songs from his previously download only "Phantom 45" series available on an honest-to-goodness 12" long-playing microgroove vinyl record. I'm sure there is a lesson in there about the persistence of the vinyl record in the as the age of the download gives way to the age of streaming. As a reward for supporting your local independent music retailer, the record will also include 2 new previously unreleased songs.

Hitchcock's latest Phantom 45, "There Goes The Ice" b/w "Twitch For Surfer Sam," is currently available for free download at his website. You can download the songs now in anticipation of getting your groovy new vinyl LP on Record Store Day, April 20th. I hope to be one of the 750 lucky Robyn Hitchcock fans to score a copy.

No comments: